Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does V4356 need an outlet to swing?
No outlet-powered arrangement is established in the exact V4356 sources. Both linked V4356 manuals require four D (LR20) alkaline batteries, not included, and show local power/speed, music and sound/volume controls. Do not assume an adapter from a similar Fisher-Price model fits.
Explore this need in the finder →What weight and developmental limits apply to the V4356 swing?
Mattel lists use from birth until the child becomes active and attempts to climb out; the linked instructions cap this swing at 25 lb and say to stop sooner if an active child appears able to climb out. They do not state a minimum child weight or a separate insert requirement, so the from-birth listing is not proof of fit for every newborn.
Explore this need in the finder →How should V4356's seat pad and frame be cleaned?
The two linked manuals agree that only the removed pad is machine washable: cold water, gentle cycle, no bleach, then separate low-heat tumble drying and prompt removal. Wipe the frame with a mild cleaning solution and damp cloth; do not immerse it. Follow the exact sheet supplied with the unit, especially for assembly hardware, because the two official versions disagree on screw size.
Explore this need in the finder →Fisher-Price’s V4356 is the Adorable Animals Fold n’ Stow Swing, an earlier U.S. model that Mattel lists as released and discontinued in 2011. The exact support page identifies four D-cell power and use from birth until a child becomes active and attempts to climb out. This is a document-based assessment of V4356, not a current offer or a statement about any particular secondhand unit. (Mattel V4356 product support; V4356 technical description)
More local settings, but no documented motion direction
Mattel lists six speed settings, two recline positions, eight songs, two sound choices and a mobile. The manuals show local power/speed, music-selection and sound/volume switches and ask an adult to give the seat a light push to start. Neither manual identifies the swing axis: six speeds do not mean six directions, and side-to-side or front-to-back travel remains unknown. Mattel calls the play feature a mobile; the parts list calls it a toy bar, so verify what comes with a used unit. The page does not name the sound choices. App, voice, remote, vibration and swing-timer support are not documented, and no separate age/weight schedule by recline is given.
Four D cells and controls on the swing
Both V4356 manuals require four D (LR20) alkaline cells, not included; the exact sources do not establish an outlet-powered swing plan. Do not assume an adapter from another Fisher-Price model fits. Check a used unit’s battery compartment, cover and contacts for damage or corrosion. The documented controls are on the swing; follow the exact manual’s light-push start and switch-off instructions.
From-birth listing does not replace fit checks
Mattel lists use from birth until the child becomes active and attempts to climb out. Both manuals set a 25 lb (11.3 kg) maximum and an earlier stop if a lighter child is active and appears able to climb out. They state no minimum weight, separate newborn-insert requirement or recline-specific size schedule. The from-birth listing does not prove fit for every newborn; use the restraint and stop at the earliest applicable condition.
The model page carries Mattel’s updated reminder that swings are not safe for sleep or unsupervised use. Stay close and watch the child; if the baby falls asleep, move them as soon as possible to a firm, flat sleep surface such as a crib or bassinet. A feature match does not change that warning.
Pad care is separate from frame care
Both manuals say to remove and wash the pad separately in cold water on gentle, without bleach; tumble-dry it separately on low and remove it promptly. Wipe the frame with a mild cleaner and damp cloth; do not immerse it. This is pad-only machine washing, not an all-parts washable claim.
The fold claim is not a room-fit dimension
Mattel says V4356 folds down to 10 inches, and the manuals show folding the seat and frame. The page does not identify the 10-inch axis or publish body width or depth. That claim is not a room-fit number, complete folded envelope or swing-clearance measurement; measure the actual unit and allow space for operation.
Two official manuals disagree on assembly screws
The exact page links two V4356 sheets. Their reviewed operation, battery supply, 25 lb limit and pad-care directions agree, but their parts lists conflict: V4356pr-0720 says four #6 x 1.125-inch screws; V4356a-0720 says four #8 x 3-centimeter screws. Mattel does not state which file applies to a particular unit or that the hardware is interchangeable. Match the manual supplied with the actual swing; do not substitute screws, and ask Mattel if the manual and hardware disagree. Both sheets tell caregivers to check for damaged or missing parts.
What to verify before considering an earlier unit
Confirm the label says V4356. Check the frame, base tubes, swing arms, seat frame, pad, restraint, toy bar, fasteners, battery cover and the manual supplied with the unit; look for damage, missing hardware, corrosion or repairs. The manufacturer image is an identification view, not an inventory or condition report. Mattel’s current recall-index snapshot had no exact V4356 string, while direct CPSC search retrieval was inaccessible and targeted indexed queries returned no exact notice. These limited checks do not clear a unit or serial number; check current official notices. Mattel lists V4356 as discontinued, with no present offer or used-package condition established.
How it differs from the reviewed C4635
V4356 is not a finish of C4635. Both are earlier Fisher-Price battery swings with a 25 lb ceiling, but V4356 requires four D cells and lists six speeds, songs/sounds and two reclines; C4635 requires four C cells and documents five speeds. Neither reviewed exact record identifies its swing axis or body width/depth. Check each label, manual and hardware separately; see the C4635 assessment for its own limits.
V4356 may suit someone checking an exact, complete earlier unit for local speeds and sounds, a washable pad and fold-for-storage design. It is a poor fit when a documented outlet plan, room dimension, multi-axis travel, connected control or current offer is essential. This document-based analysis does not claim hands-on use, testing, comfort, quietness, soothing results, a price or the condition of any particular unit.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Motion type | Powered swing; movement axes not specified |
|---|---|
| Powered speed settings | 6 |
| Power modes | Four D (LR20) alkaline batteries are required and not included. No AC-mains powered swing arrangement is established in the reviewed exact V4356 pages or manuals. |
| Manufacturer-listed weight limit | 25 lb |
| Machine-washable seat textiles | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Fisher-Price Adorable Animals Fold n' Stow Swing V4356 — Mattel U.S. product support
- Fisher-Price V4356 technical product description and operating warning
- V4356 Adorable Animals Fold n' Stow Swing instruction sheet V4356pr-0720
- V4356 Adorable Animals Fold n' Stow Swing instruction sheet V4356a-0720
- Fisher-Price V4356 official product-support image
- Mattel U.S. Recall & Safety Alerts index — limited V4356 identifier screen
- CPSC targeted V4356 query attempt — not a recall determination
Compare this model with your actual requirements
Use the finder to combine movement, power, control, care, newborn support and published body dimensions. It does not calculate motion clearance or override model-specific warnings.
