Model assessment · Fisher-Price

Fisher-Price Open Top Take-Along Swing C4636 review

An earlier U.S. Fisher-Price infant swing identified as C4636, with four-C-cell operation, five local speed settings and a 25 lb manual maximum. Its reviewed sources do not establish body width or depth, a current offer, or the condition and recall status of a particular used unit.

Sources checked 2026-11-03 · Our editorial approach

Mattel reports that C4636 was released in 2004 and discontinued in 2005. The exact U.S. support record does not establish a current offer, retail SKU, complete used-unit package or individual-unit clearance. The model-number family manual names C4635 and C4636 on its cover; verify the C4636 label and the actual swing.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Fisher-Price C4636 Open Top Take-Along Swing in an official manufacturer support image, with a blue frame and blue-and-white patterned seat.
Official C4636 support image; identification only, not a package or condition photo. Official Fisher-Price / Mattel product-support image
A useful fit for

An earlier-model assessment for someone checking an already located C4636: its exact U.S. record documents four-C-cell power, five local speeds, folding and side handles; the family instructions name C4636 and establish a 25 lb ceiling and separate washable-pad care.

The main tradeoff

The C4636 has no documented outlet plan, direction, minimum weight, body width/depth, folded dimensions or current offer in the sources reviewed. Four C alkaline cells are not included, and the 25 lb maximum is subordinate to the earlier activity/climb-out stop. Check the exact model label, complete used unit and current recall notices; the bounded index does not clear any specific item.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What power and controls are documented for the Fisher-Price C4636?

Mattel lists four C batteries for C4636, and the C4635/C4636 family sheet specifies four C (LR14) alkaline cells, not included. It shows a five-speed switch on the swing and a light adult push to start motion. The reviewed C4636 record does not establish an AC-adapter plan; confirm the product label and battery compartment rather than borrowing another swing's adapter details.

Explore this need in the finder →
What is the C4636's weight limit and use-from-birth guidance?

Mattel lists C4636 for use from birth until the child becomes active and can climb out. The family instructions set a 25 lb maximum and require an earlier stop if a lighter child is active and appears able to climb out. No minimum child weight or separate newborn insert requirement is stated. Use the restraint, supervise on a non-elevated surface, and do not use the swing for sleep.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the C4636 swing be washed?

The shared C4635/C4636 instruction sheet allows only the removed seat pad to be machine-washed separately in cold water on gentle without bleach, then tumble-dried separately on low and removed promptly. Wipe the frame with a mild solution and damp cloth; do not immerse it. These instructions do not make the complete swing or battery components washable.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Fisher-Price C4636 is an earlier U.S. Open Top Take-Along Swing with its own Mattel support record, not a C4635 color name or current retail offer. Mattel reports release in 2004 and discontinuation in 2005. Its page describes a folding portable swing with five speeds and side handles; the record lists four C cells and use from birth until the child becomes active and can climb out. A separate family instruction sheet names C4635 and C4636, but the C4636 page does not directly list it; its cover warns features and decoration may vary. This review keeps the model numbers separate. (Mattel C4636 U.S. support record; C4635/C4636 family instruction sheet)

A portable frame, not a measured room-fit promise

Mattel describes the C4636 as compact and foldable, with an open top, side handles and five speeds. Its page does not identify a travel direction, so speed settings do not establish multiple axes. The family sheet adds a light push to start and an on-unit switch. No app, voice, remote, timer, music or vibration operation is established for C4636.

Do not use “compact” as a substitute for measuring a room. The exact C4636 record and shared manual do not give body width, front-to-back depth, folded dimensions or a moving-seat clearance envelope. Mattel lists a 24-inch assembled height for the separate C4635 support record; that measurement is not transferred to C4636. A folded frame also needs floor-level operating space when opened and room to reach the restraint and battery compartment.

Four C cells and a local five-speed switch

The exact C4636 support record lists four C batteries. The C4635/C4636 family instructions specify four C (LR14) alkaline cells, not included. They describe a five-speed power switch and a light adult push to start the swing. These sources support a battery-powered, on-unit-control plan, but do not establish a C4636 AC adapter option. Check the label inside the battery compartment and its cover on any used unit; do not assume that a plug from another Take-Along swing fits or is approved. Budget for the correct cells as well as the time needed to inspect the battery contacts for corrosion or damage.

From-birth wording is not an all-purpose fit guarantee

Mattel lists the C4636 for use from birth until the child becomes active and can climb out. The family manual sets a 25 lb (11.3 kg) maximum and says to stop sooner if a lighter child becomes active and appears able to climb out. It does not state a minimum child weight, a separate newborn-insert requirement, or a numbered recline schedule. The “from birth” entry therefore does not establish that every newborn fits the harness or that the seat is appropriate in every posture. Confirm the C4636 label and matching instructions, use the restraint, remain with the child, and keep the swing on a non-elevated surface. The manufacturer’s current support warning says swings are not for sleep or unsupervised use; if a baby falls asleep, move them to a firm, flat sleep surface as soon as possible.

Wash the pad separately; keep the frame dry

The shared family manual says the seat pad may be machine-washed separately in cold water on a gentle cycle, without bleach. It directs the caregiver to tumble-dry the pad separately on low and remove it promptly. The frame is wiped with a mild cleaning solution and a damp cloth; the manual says not to immerse it. This is a pad-care claim, not permission to wash the entire swing, battery box, restraint hardware or frame. Follow the instructions when reinstalling the pad and restraint, and do not use a unit with missing, broken or substituted parts.

Check the exact model and the particular used unit

The model number matters because C4636 is a distinct manufacturer record from C4635 even though both appear on one family-manual cover. The manufacturer instruction-sheet search for C4636 did not return a direct C4636 manual result; the 2003 family sheet is identified through C4635’s support entry and names C4636 on its cover. It also says product features and decoration may vary from its illustration. Check the label stamped on the actual swing, compare the frame and restraint with the instructions, and confirm that the folding joints, fasteners, battery cover and pad are present and undamaged. The official C4636 support photo is an identification reference; it does not prove that a seller’s unit is complete, clean, safe or in the pictured fabric.

A search of Mattel’s current U.S. recall index did not surface the C4636 code. That bounded index check does not verify the full history or clear an individual used swing. Check current official notices against the exact model number and assess the actual item. Mattel reports that C4636 was discontinued in 2005; this assessment does not imply a current offer, replacement-part supply, price or seller stock.

Who may find this assessment useful

C4636 is most relevant to someone who has already located a specifically labelled earlier swing and wants to compare its documented four-C-cell power, local speed switch, fold-for-storage frame and washable pad. It is a poor fit when a buyer needs a confirmed current configuration, a documented wall-outlet plan, multiple swing directions, phone control, a known body width or depth, or a verified condition and recall status for a particular unit. The 25 lb number is a maximum, not a readiness target or a promise of use duration; developmental stop conditions may apply sooner.

This is a document-based assessment, not a hands-on test or a claim about soothing effect, motion quality, noise, durability or any seller’s unit. The family sheet’s model-number bridge supports the instructions described here, but the exact C4636 page does not publish a complete retail package or all room-fit measurements. Confirm the stamped model number, inspect the whole swing, and follow the instructions before use.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Motion typePowered swing; movement axes not specified
Powered speed settings5
Power modesMattel's exact C4636 support record lists four C batteries. The family sheet that names C4636 specifies four C (LR14) alkaline cells, not included. No C4636 mains-adapter plan is established.
Manufacturer-listed weight limit25 lb
Machine-washable seat textilesYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this model with your actual requirements

Use the finder to combine movement, power, control, care, newborn support and published body dimensions. It does not calculate motion clearance or override model-specific warnings.

In this review