Model assessment · Fisher-Price

Fisher-Price Open Top Take-Along Swing J1569 review

An earlier U.S. swing with four-C-cell power, five local speed settings and a 25 lb manual maximum. Mattel’s sources do not establish body dimensions, a current offer or the condition of a particular used unit.

Sources checked 2026-11-03 · Our editorial approach

Mattel dates J1569 to 2005–2006 and no current offer is established. Its page links a family instruction sheet whose cover names H0794, H3673 and J1569; verify the exact J1569 label, actual parts and instructions on any used unit.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Fisher-Price J1569 Open Top Take-Along Swing in a dark patterned-seat manufacturer support image.
Official J1569 support image; identification only, not a package or condition photo. Official Fisher-Price / Mattel product-support image
A useful fit for

An earlier-model assessment for someone checking a located J1569: Mattel documents four-C-cell power, five local speeds, folding and side handles; the exact linked family sheet names J1569 and sets the 25 lb ceiling, earlier climb-out stop and removable-pad care.

The main tradeoff

J1569 was discontinued in 2006. Four C alkaline cells are not included; the reviewed sources do not establish a mains plan, motion direction, minimum child weight, body width/depth, folded dimensions or current offer. The 25 lb ceiling is subordinate to the active/climb-out stop. Verify the exact label, all parts, used-unit condition and current official recall notices; the bounded screen does not clear an individual item.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What power and control arrangement does the Fisher-Price J1569 use?

Mattel lists four C cells for J1569, and the exact page-linked family sheet specifies four C (LR14) alkaline batteries, not included. It shows a five-speed switch on the product and a light adult push to start movement. The reviewed J1569 sources establish no AC-adapter plan; check the exact label and battery compartment instead of assuming a sibling swing's power arrangement.

Explore this need in the finder →
What does J1569's from-birth wording mean for its weight limit?

Mattel lists use from birth until the child becomes active and can climb out; the linked manual sets a 25 lb maximum and says to stop earlier if a lighter child is active and appears able to climb out. The sources state no numerical minimum weight or separate newborn insert requirement. Use the restraint on a non-elevated surface, supervise, and never use the swing for sleep.

Explore this need in the finder →
How should the J1569 pad and frame be cleaned?

The linked H0794b-0720 sheet says to remove the pad, wash it separately in cold water on a gentle cycle without bleach, then tumble dry separately on low and remove promptly. Wipe the frame with a mild solution and damp cloth; do not immerse it. These instructions do not make the assembled swing, frame or battery area washable.

Explore this need in the finder →

Fisher-Price’s J1569 Open Top Take-Along Swing is an earlier, battery-powered infant swing, not a current product recommendation based on present stock or hands-on testing. Mattel’s support record dates its release to 2005 and discontinuation to 2006. The exact page identifies the model and links a manual whose cover names J1569 alongside H0794 and H3673. That is enough to assess J1569 as a distinct earlier configuration, but not to identify a seller’s particular finish, package or condition.

What the documented swing does

The manufacturer describes five speed settings, an open-top seat design, folding for storage and carry handles at the sides. The linked 16-page instructions make the operating routine more concrete: an adult chooses one of five switch settings and gives the seat a light push to start its swing. That means the mode is motor-powered but not documented as an automatic, self-starting cycle. The manual does not name the travel direction, so this assessment does not call it side-to-side, front-to-back or multi-axis.

Power is straightforward but worth planning for: J1569 requires four C (LR14) alkaline batteries, which are not included. Mattel’s exact product record and the manual both list that battery arrangement. The reviewed sources do not establish an AC adapter or a wall-powered mode, so a plug-in capability should not be inferred from another Fisher-Price swing. The switch is on the frame; there is no documented phone app, voice control or remote in this record. A low-speed setting that stalls may require a higher setting and a light push, according to the instructions; battery condition and the manufacturer’s own maintenance guidance still matter.

Infant fit and safe placement

Mattel labels the J1569 for use from birth until a child becomes active and can climb out. The manual sets a 25 lb maximum and says to stop sooner if a lighter child is active and appears able to climb out. No numerical minimum child weight, separate newborn insert requirement, recline adjustment or specific developmental stage such as independent sitting is established in the reviewed J1569 materials. “From birth” is therefore not an assurance that every newborn fits this seat or that a particular insert is present.

The manual requires the restraint every time, adult supervision and a non-elevated floor surface; it warns against use with a child who may climb out. Mattel’s current support page also repeats the warning that swings are not for sleep or unsupervised use, and says to move a sleeping baby to a firm, flat sleep surface. Those are not optional trade-offs for a portable design. Neither the product page nor the small support image provides body width, depth, height or folded dimensions, and neither describes the moving clearance needed around the seat. Measure the actual assembled item and its storage footprint, then leave safe operating room and keep the floor, access and battery area unobstructed.

Portability and cleaning

The folding frame and handles are useful if a household needs to put the swing away or move it between rooms, but Mattel publishes no J1569 dimensions or carrying weight in the sources reviewed. The manual shows the adult securing the child before lifting with both handles, then setting the swing on a flat, non-elevated surface. For a used unit, inspect both frame assemblies, hinges, buttons, screws, seat hubs, straps and battery door; the manual says not to use missing or broken parts and not to substitute components. A product image cannot establish that a seller’s swing includes every part or that a latch still works.

The removable pad is machine-washable: the manual specifies a separate cold, gentle wash without bleach, followed by separate low-heat tumble drying and prompt removal. The frame is wiped with a mild cleaning solution and damp cloth and must not be immersed. Removing and reinstalling the pad involves its pockets and restraint belts, so follow the model-linked steps rather than washing the assembled swing or guessing how to route the harness. The support page does not state a current replacement-pad offer.

Who should consider this earlier model?

J1569 is most useful to someone who has already located a specific unit and wants a source-backed check of four-C-cell operation, local speed control, folding and the 25 lb ceiling. It is a poor fit for a buyer who needs documented mains power, known body dimensions, selectable motion directions, a particular newborn insert, a current new-product warranty or proof that a used swing is complete. The official support image depicts one J1569 design, but its manual explicitly notes that decoration and features may vary from the illustration; compare the tag, fabric, parts and instructions on the exact unit.

Mattel’s captured U.S. recall index did not display J1569 among the listed product numbers, but a targeted CPSC page retrieval was blocked and this bounded screen is not a clearance of a particular item, serial number or repair history. Check current official recall notices and the model label before considering a used swing; do not assume that a similar-looking model is covered by the same page or manual. No current offer, retail SKU, seller price, stock status or individual-unit safety status is established here.

Assessment: the J1569’s documented appeal is a compact folding format with battery-powered motion and washable seat textiles. Its limitations are equally specific: four C cells, a manual push to initiate movement, no documented outlet or motion-axis choice, missing published dimensions and an earlier stop that can precede the listed 25 lb maximum. Verify the exact product number, all parts, restraint condition, current safety notices and your room measurements before relying on any used example.

Mattel J1569 U.S. support record · Manufacturer instruction sheet linked from the J1569 page (H0794/H3673/J1569)

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Motion typePowered swing; movement axes not specified
Powered speed settings5
Power modesMattel's J1569 support record and linked H0794b-0720 instructions specify four C (LR14) alkaline cells; the cells are not included. No mains/adapter operation is established.
Manufacturer-listed weight limit25 lb
Machine-washable seat textilesYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this model with your actual requirements

Use the finder to combine movement, power, control, care, newborn support and published body dimensions. It does not calculate motion clearance or override model-specific warnings.

In this review