Model assessment · Fisher-Price

Fisher-Price Power Plus Swing M7590 review

An earlier U.S. powered swing with separate AC-adapter and four-D-cell operating arrangements, six speed settings and three seat positions. Mattel lists use from birth until the child becomes active and can climb out; the reviewed sources state no numerical weight limit or body dimensions.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

Mattel reports release in 2008 and discontinuation in 2010. The M7590 instruction sheet says a 6 V AC adapter was included with the original product, but that does not establish the contents or condition of any present-day used offer. Verify the exact M7590 label, compatible adapter, pad, toys, frame and instructions. No numeric weight limit, current retail SKU, current offer or unit-specific recall clearance is established.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Official Mattel product-support image of the Fisher-Price Power Plus Swing M7590, showing an inclined dark seat on a light frame with an overhead mobile; model identification only.
Mattel's small M7590 support image for model identification; not a package or condition photo. Official Mattel product-support image
A useful fit for

A useful earlier-model assessment when the exact M7590 label is visible and the original use rules, six local speed settings, three reclines, separate battery/adapter modes and washable pad-and-toy care are the relevant checks. The linked sheet supports both outlet and battery swing operation, but does not publish a body footprint or numerical weight ceiling.

The main tradeoff

This discontinued swing is not a verified current offer. Any older listing needs an exact-label and condition check, and its originally included AC adapter, pad, restraint and toys may not accompany a used unit. The reviewed sources provide no numeric minimum or maximum child weight, dimensions, movement direction, app/remote/voice control or unit-specific recall clearance; stop earlier if the child becomes active and can climb out.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can M7590 run from an outlet or batteries, and what controls are documented?

The exact M7590 instruction sheet supports two alternative swing-power arrangements: a 6 V AC adapter described as included originally, or four D (LR20) alkaline cells that are not included. Both use the on-unit speed and music controls. A used-unit listing needs to confirm the correct adapter and condition; app, remote and voice control are not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
What age and weight limit does M7590 state?

Mattel lists use from birth until a child becomes active and can climb out, and the manual repeats the climb-out restriction. The exact M7590 sources reviewed do not specify a numerical minimum or maximum child weight or a separate newborn insert, so this model is not counted for a requested numeric capacity threshold. Follow the activity/climb-out stop even before any other limit.

Explore this need in the finder →
How should the M7590 pad and toys be cleaned?

The manual permits the pad and toys to be washed separately in cold water on a gentle cycle without bleach, then tumble-dried separately on low and removed promptly. The frame, toy bar and storage pouches are wiped with a mild solution and damp cloth. Disconnect the adapter before cleaning and check that a used unit has the correct pad and restraint.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the M7590's available image establish room fit?

No. The support image is a small model-style illustration and the M7590 page/manual provide no assembled width, depth, height or folded dimensions. Measure the actual unit, allow room for its swing path and caregiver access, and keep any power cord routed according to the exact instructions.

Explore this need in the finder →

The M7590 is an earlier U.S. Fisher-Price Power Plus Swing. Mattel's support records report a 2008 release and 2010 discontinuation, and the exact M7590 product page links an M7590-numbered instruction sheet. This is a source-based assessment of that model, not a current offer or a check of any individual used swing. A listing should be matched to the label on the frame and to the instructions for that exact model.

Two power routes, not a promise about a used package

The M7590 manual describes a 6-volt AC adapter as included with the original product and also permits four D (LR20) alkaline batteries for swing operation; the batteries are not included. The seat motor's power-source switch distinguishes AC from battery operation, so these are alternative ways to run the same swing rather than separate seats or features. Mattel specifies the adapter's output in the manual; a current owner should use only the recommended part and inspect its cord and housing. The original package statement cannot establish that a second-hand listing still has the adapter, or that an unrelated Fisher-Price adapter is compatible.

The controls are on the product: the manual describes six swing-speed settings and separate switches for music selection and volume. Mattel's technical support description lists ten soothing songs. These details may make the M7590 worth identifying for someone comparing local controls and sound options, but they do not establish app, remote or voice-assistant operation. None is documented in the exact sources reviewed. Battery use is also a different convenience tradeoff from outlet use: a battery-powered arrangement still depends on four appropriately installed D cells, while the adapter route requires a suitable wall outlet and careful cord placement.

Recline and stop rules matter more than age shorthand

Mattel lists the M7590 for use from birth until the child becomes active and can climb out of the seat. Its linked manual describes three seat positions—upright, semi-recline and recline—and says not to use the swing with an active child who may climb out. That is not a numerical capacity rating. The M7590 sources reviewed do not state a minimum or maximum child weight, and they do not describe a separate newborn insert. The from-birth wording therefore does not prove fit for an individual infant or answer a visitor's request for a specific weight ceiling.

The manual requires the restraint system and says never to leave a child unattended. Mattel's current support warning also says swings are not safe for sleep or unsupervised use; move a sleeping baby to a firm, flat sleep surface. Use the exact manual for position, restraint and supervision, and stop when the child reaches the stated developmental stop even though the sources offer no numeric weight boundary.

Three toys and a move-aside mobile need a package check

Mattel's M7590 support description identifies a three-toy overhead mobile that can be moved away for access to the child, and the manual's parts list says three toys are included in its illustrated assembly while warning that the toys may differ. The same support page calls this a fashion refresh of the L1960 and says the features are unchanged; this review does not merge the model identities or transfer facts from a different product number. The M7590-linked instructions and support entry remain the evidence used for this assessment.

A support image is not an inventory of a used offer. Before relying on a listing, compare the frame's model label, inspect the seat, restraint, mobile arm, toys, adjustment points and battery compartment, and obtain the manual that corresponds to M7590. The small official image can help identify the illustrated model style, but Mattel warns that features and decorations may vary from photographs. It cannot establish a seller's finish, complete parts, current condition or safe assembly.

Storage folding is not a room measurement

The M7590 manual shows a storage procedure: move the mobile arm aside, press the buttons at the frame housings and bring the rear legs toward the front legs. That supports a fold-for-storage description, not a claim that the assembled swing fits a particular corner or can be carried as a travel product. The exact support page and manual do not give assembled width, depth or height, folded measurements, or a swept-motion clearance envelope. Measure the actual frame and leave additional space for the moving seat, adult access and safe placement. Do not scale dimensions from a photograph.

Wash removable pieces separately

The exact manual says the pad and toys may be machine washed separately in cold water on a gentle cycle without bleach. It calls for separately tumble-drying them on low and removing them promptly. The frame, toy bar and storage pouches are wiped with a mild solution and damp cloth; harsh or abrasive cleaners and bleach are not specified as acceptable. This is a component-level care instruction, not permission to wash the assembled swing. Disconnect the AC adapter before cleaning, as the instructions direct.

What a present-day comparison can establish

The exact product support page says M7590 was discontinued in 2010, so this assessment does not imply current stock or a verified retail package. Relevant documented features are the two power arrangements, six local speed settings, three reclines, ten songs, movable toy arm, fold-for-storage procedure and washable pad and toys. The corresponding limitations are an unverified current offer, uncertain used-unit contents and condition, no published numeric weight limit or body dimensions, and an unspecified swing direction.

The reviewed Mattel recall-index snapshot did not list M7590, but that limited non-hit is not a complete recall-history check or clearance for an individual unit. Recheck current official safety information using the precise product label and any serial or date details. For an older swing, verify the approved adapter, required parts and applicable instructions before use.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Motion typePowered swing; movement axes not specified
Powered speed settings6
Power modesac_mains / battery
Machine-washable seat textilesYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this model with your actual requirements

Use the finder to combine movement, power, control, care, newborn support and published body dimensions. It does not calculate motion clearance or override model-specific warnings.

In this review