Model assessment · Fisher-Price

Fisher-Price Take Along Swing HBD71 review

An earlier Fisher-Price support-record model with a four-C-cell powered swing, six on-unit speed settings, separate vibration and music controls, a machine-washable pad and a 25 lb maximum. Its reviewed sources do not establish swing direction, minimum weight, body dimensions or a current retail offer.

Sources checked 2026-11-01 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model reference: the manufacturer support record reports a 2021 release; no present retail offer is established. Match the HBD71 label and exact instructions before evaluating a specific offer.

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Small official Fisher-Price support thumbnail of the empty HBD71 Take Along Swing, with a light frame, patterned seat pad and fabric canopy.
Official HBD71 support thumbnail · small image for identification only. Official Mattel / Fisher-Price support thumbnail
A useful fit for

An earlier-model reference for a household assessing a four-C-cell powered swing with local speed and sound controls, a from-birth listing, a 25 lb upper limit and a machine-washable pad. It has no established present retail offer, minimum size, body dimensions or swing-axis direction in the reviewed record.

The main tradeoff

Four C cells are required and not included. The manual provides a climbing-out stop before the 25 lb ceiling, but no minimum infant weight; it also does not document a swing direction or body dimensions. Treat the fold-for-storage diagrams as storage guidance, not a travel or clearance claim.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the HBD71 require an outlet for swing movement?

No. The exact HBD71-4L manual requires four C (LR14) alkaline cells, which are not included. Its power, speed, vibration, music and volume controls are on the product. No mains-powered arrangement is documented for this model.

Explore this need in the finder →
What newborn and size limits should be checked for HBD71?

Mattel's support record lists swing use from birth until attempted climbing out at about nine months; the linked manual sets a 25 lb ceiling and the same earlier developmental stop. The manual does not give a minimum child weight. Use the restraint, supervise on the floor and do not use it for prolonged sleep.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the HBD71 seat pad be machine washed?

Yes. Manual HBD71-4L allows a cold gentle wash with mild detergent and no bleach, followed by low tumble drying and prompt removal. The frame, restraint and canopy are wiped separately; the manual does not make every component machine-washable.

Explore this need in the finder →

An earlier support-documented swing, not a current retail listing

This review covers the U.S. Fisher-Price Take Along Swing identified by support product number HBD71. Mattel’s product-support page gives a 2021 release date and links an HBD71-4L instruction sheet. That is useful model-specific evidence, but it is not a current consumer listing: I could not establish a present retail offer, package availability or price from these sources. This is a source-based assessment, not a hands-on test, and HBD71 should be matched by its physical label and its own manual rather than inferred from another Take-Along model.

The strongest documented use case is a battery-powered swing with local controls. The manual describes six swing-speed choices, a power switch, separate soothing vibration, music selection and volume buttons. It does not state the swing’s travel direction or document multi-axis motion, so a buyer who requires a particular direction should not infer one from the product name or support image. Vibration is a separate feature: the manual says it turns off after about 30 minutes and must be restarted with its button. That timer is not a stated swing shutoff timer.

Plan for four C cells and controls on the frame

The exact manual requires four C (LR14) alkaline batteries, which are not included. It recommends alkaline cells for longer life and says to remove batteries for long-term storage; it does not provide a runtime figure that would support an estimate of ongoing cost or hours between changes. No wall-adapter arrangement is established in the reviewed HBD71 sources. If a listing advertises a cord, adapter or remote, check the exact model and package rather than treating an accessory claim as part of this reviewed configuration.

Power, swing speed, vibration, music and volume are all controlled on the product in the manual. That straightforward panel avoids a documented phone-app or voice-control requirement; neither connected control method is established for HBD71. The instructions also describe a low-battery indicator that flashes, a practical check on an older unit. A seller’s battery claim is not proof that cells are supplied or that a used battery compartment is clean and undamaged.

Use the 25 lb ceiling together with the earlier stop

Mattel’s support record describes swing use from birth until the child attempts to climb out, with approximately nine months given as an age reference. The HBD71 manual sets a 25 lb maximum and repeats that an active child who appears able to climb out must stop using the swing even below that weight. The manual does not state a minimum child weight or a separate newborn insert requirement. “From birth” is therefore the manufacturer’s listed start, not a substitute for checking the physical product, restraint fit and the child’s actual readiness against the complete instructions.

The manual calls for the restraint every time, close supervision and use on the floor only. It says the swing is not intended to replace a crib or bassinet for prolonged sleep, and Mattel’s support page carries the updated warning that swings, rockers and bouncers should not be used for sleep. Keep an awake child supervised and move a sleeping infant to an appropriate sleep surface. The 25 lb figure is an upper limit, not a promise that every child remains eligible until that point; the attempt-to-climb stop takes precedence when it happens first.

Care and storage are more limited than “take along” suggests

The manual permits machine-washing the removed seat pad in cold water on a gentle cycle with mild detergent and no bleach, then tumble-drying on low and removing it promptly. It gives separate wipe-clean directions for the frame, restraint and canopy: use a mild cleaning agent and damp cloth, then rinse away residue. A washable pad does not make the other components machine-washable. Reinstall the pad by following the assembly instructions, and inspect the swing periodically for loose fasteners or broken parts.

The storage section shows how to fold the frame bases inward and rotate the seat toward the back. That establishes a fold-for-storage feature, not a carry weight, folded dimension, travel certification or occupied-carrier use. The reviewed page and manual do not give a body footprint or motion-clearance envelope either. Measure the assembled item and allow open floor space around it; a compact-sounding name cannot answer whether a particular room or doorway will fit.

Who should keep HBD71 on an earlier-model shortlist?

HBD71 may merit comparison when a buyer is evaluating an identified earlier offer and wants a four-C-cell swing, on-unit speed and sound controls, a 25 lb listed ceiling and a machine-washable pad. Its genuine tradeoffs are the recurring battery requirement, the manual’s limited lower-size guidance, the undocumented swing axis and the lack of verified body dimensions in the reviewed support record. Its age estimate and all safety stops still apply even if a child weighs less than 25 lb.

Before considering any offer, match the HBD71 label, confirm that the HBD71-4L instructions correspond to the unit, inspect the restraint, pad, canopy, frame and battery compartment, and check current safety notices for the exact product and unit. The targeted recall screen used for this assessment is not complete recall-history or serial-number clearance. Confirm what the seller actually includes and its return terms; neither the small support thumbnail nor the manual is a package checklist. This assessment does not establish current stock, a retailer, a price, customer experience or an exact unit’s safety status.

Sources: Mattel’s HBD71 product-support page and the linked HBD71-4L instruction sheet.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Motion typePowered swing; movement axes not specified
Powered speed settings6
Power modesFour C (LR14) alkaline cells power the swing; the exact manual states that they are not included. No AC-mains arrangement is established in the reviewed HBD71 sources.
Manufacturer-listed weight limit25 lb
Approximate age reference9 months
Machine-washable seat textilesYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this model with your actual requirements

Use the finder to combine movement, power, control, care, newborn support and published body dimensions. It does not calculate motion clearance or override model-specific warnings.

In this review