Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does Bluetooth mean a phone app controls the swing?
No. The manual documents pairing a phone to play audio through the swing speaker and adjust audio volume; it does not document a phone app that changes swing motion or settings. Use the touchscreen for product-side selections.
Explore this need in the finder →Which arrangement is listed to 40 pounds?
Only the separate manual toddler-rocker mode. The infant swing is limited to 25 pounds and the manual infant rocker to 20 pounds. The toddler posture is only for a child with adequate upper-body control; its 40-pound number is not infant-swing permission.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the infant swing be used as a sleep place?
No. The manual requires nearby supervision, directs the caregiver to move a sleeping infant to a firm, flat sleep surface, and gives a fully-reclined rule for young infants.
Explore this need in the finder →Graco’s Lucca Soothe ’n Sway Bluetooth 3-in-1 is best understood as one seat used in several different arrangements, not as a single 40-pound swing. The exact U.S. model is 2203029. Its powered infant-swing mode is listed to 25 pounds; the manual separately lists a manual infant-rocker mode to 20 pounds and a manual toddler-rocker mode to 40 pounds. Those limits do not transfer between modes, and the larger number is not a reason to keep an infant in the swing after its own stop condition.
Three modes, three different decisions
Graco describes the product as transitioning from compact soother to full-size swing to toddler seat. Its linked 2023 owner’s manual distinguishes an infant swing, infant rocker and toddler rocker. The swing uses a motor; the two rocker stages are manually moved. For an infant in the swing, use the most-reclined setting until the baby is at least four months old and can hold their head up without help. The manual also says to stop swing use when the infant tries to climb out, with about nine months given as a guide. The infant rocker has its own 20-pound maximum; the toddler rocker has a 40-pound maximum and its upright posture is reserved for a child with enough upper-body control to sit without tipping forward. Use the rocker on the floor, keep the restraint in place until the child can get in and out independently, and do not carry the swing or rocker with a child in it.
These are not sleep products. Graco calls for nearby supervision and says to move a sleeping infant to a firm, flat sleep surface. A capacity number alone does not establish that a child is ready for the next posture, that a seat can be used unattended, or that it is suitable for naps.
Outlet power and local controls; Bluetooth is for audio
The 2203029 manual’s parts list includes a wall plug and its instructions describe the supplied cord; the material reviewed does not establish a battery-driven swing-motor option. Plan for a nearby outlet and keep the cord clear of walking routes, furniture pinch points and the child. The manual warns against extension cords and using a wet, dropped or damaged adapter. Graco’s product page calls the swing’s controls an interactive touchscreen, so adjustment at the product is documented.
Bluetooth is useful for a different task: pairing a phone so the swing speaker can play audio from the phone. The manual’s pairing steps connect to “Graco Swing,” and its Bluetooth section discusses phone-side volume. It does not describe a phone app that changes the swing’s movement or soothing settings. That distinction matters if “phone control” is essential: Bluetooth audio does not, on the evidence reviewed, qualify as app control of the swing. The product does not document multi-axis movement either, so shoppers who require a named side-to-side and front-to-back swing should compare a model whose exact source states both.
Cleaning is mostly wipe-care, not a machine-wash claim
Graco lists a wipe-clean seat pad and frame. The manual says to wipe the seat pad with a damp cloth, follow the body-support care tag, and clean the base with a dry cloth only. That is not a general machine-wash instruction for the seat textiles, insert, harness covers or every soft component. Keep the tag for the exact component and do not use the base’s dry-cloth direction on fabric or the fabric direction on the powered housing.
Fit, dimensions and what the image shows
Graco publishes 32 inches wide, 20 inches high and 28.5 inches deep, with a 16.5-pound product weight. The listing does not state which of the product’s adjustable configurations supplies the height figure; use the published width and depth as screening dimensions, then check the fully assembled arrangement, clear space through the swing path, cord route and nearby furniture. A body dimension is not a clearance envelope. The official Lucca photograph on this page shows the low compact seat/rocker presentation rather than the complete swing frame, so it should not be read as a package inventory or a picture of every mode.
Who should shortlist it—and what to verify
This is a plausible research candidate for a household that wants a plug-in swing with on-product settings and a separate manual rocker stage, and that values phone-streamed audio rather than app control. It is a poor match for a battery-powered swing, machine-washable textiles, documented multi-axis movement, a seat that can be carried with a baby inside, or a documented from-birth claim. The product page and manual reviewed do not expressly establish use from birth; a body support or a lower weight number should not be substituted for that statement.
Before choosing an offer, match the Lucca finish and 2203029 model number, confirm that the wall adapter and all intended parts are present, inspect the exact manual and care tags, and check the unit’s manufacture label against current Graco and CPSC safety information. The targeted recall search performed for this assessment did not surface an exact notice, but that is not a serial-number clearance. This is a document-based comparison, not a hands-on test; comfort, noise, durability and a particular baby’s response are not asserted here.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Motion type | Powered swing; movement axes not specified |
|---|---|
| Power modes | ac_mains for infant swing; manual movement for rocker stages |
| Product weight | 16.5 lb |
| Body width | 32 in |
| Front-to-back body dimension | 28.5 in |
| Manufacturer-listed weight limit | 25 lb |
| Harness points | 5 |
| Machine-washable seat textiles | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare this model with your actual requirements
Use the finder to combine movement, power, control, care, newborn support and published body dimensions. It does not calculate motion clearance or override model-specific warnings.
